Publish: 12.03.2018

Cheltenham Festival Breakdown and Betting Tips

Punters love the Cheltenham Festival because of the exciting jump racing and the many chances to win at long odds
Cheltenham Race

On March 13, the best horses trained in Britain and Ireland will descend upon the Cheltenham Racecourse. The Cheltenham Festival is the biggest event on the jump racing calendar. Because of the quality of horses on show and the tricky track, it attracts many bettors from all over the world.

Even though the Cheltenham festival is taking place in England, there are many fans in Canada. By visiting one of the best online casinos in Canada with integrated sportsbooks, players in Canada can bet on the Cheltenham Festival. The headline event for many is the Cheltenham Gold Cup Chase. It will take place at 10:30 am ET on March 16.

Key information

The Cheltenham Festival takes places over four days at Cheltenham Racecourse. From March 13 to March 16, seven races take place each day. The race schedule times are set to be the same each day:

  • First Race: 8:30 am ET (13:30 GMT)
  • Second Race: 9:10 am ET (14:10 GMT)
  • Third Race: 9:50 am ET (14:50 GMT)
  • Fourth Race: 10:30 am ET (15:30 GMT)
  • Fifth Race: 11:10 am ET (16:10 GMT)
  • Sixth Race: 11:50 am ET (16:50 GMT)
  • Seventh Race: 12:30 pm ET (17:30 GMT)

As you can see, bettors in Canada could win on seven races before lunch!

Betting Tips

Cheltenham Race

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheltenham Racecourse keeps a fine track for horses to race on. The weather is very important to consider, and so far the forecast is cloudy.

While upsets occur with regularity at the Cheltenham Festival, there are some key names to look out for. W.P. Mullins, Paul Nicholls, and Nicky Henderson are three titans of Cheltenham. They are all trainers and enter many top-class horses into the festival. Be sure to look out for their horses, but don’t put too much weight on them. Horses beat the odds, such as second-favourite Sizing John winning the Gold Cup last year.

Set up in a natural amphitheatre, Cheltenham is a huge test for horses. With many undulations and stiff fences, horses also have to combat Cheltenham Hill. So, a horse’s form at the course and distance can be a huge indicator to their success.

For example, Yorkhill is set to run in the Ryanair Chase on March 15 at 9:50 am ET. They are not the favourite at +800 with William Hill. But, they are 4-5 over the distance and 2-2 at the course. So, Yorkhill may have shown the right stuff to be a good option for bettors of Canada.

The Cheltenham Festival is set to be a huge event for horse racing fans of Canada this year.

Back your favourite horses at the best online casinos with integrated sportsbooks in Canada! Claim bonuses for Unibet and William Hill now!

 

BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/horse-racing/43260198

Met Office: https://www.metoffice.gov.uk/events/cheltenham-festival#?date=2018-03-14

The Telegraph: https://www.telegraph.co.uk/racing/2018/03/08/sizing-john-ruled-cheltenham-chance-defend-gold-cup/

Cheltenham: http://cheltenham.thejockeyclub.co.uk/plan-your-race-day/visitor-information/racecourse-map